Board of Directors

The duty of the board of directors of Target Corporation is to act on behalf of shareholders and oversee management. The company believes there is a direct correlation between the quality of the company's board of directors and the overall performance of the corporation.

Board of Directors Position Description opens in a new window | 93KB

Roxanne S. Austin (Interim Chair of the Board)
President, Austin Investment Advisors
Roxanne S. Austin is President of Austin Investment Advisors, a private investment and consulting firm, a position she has held since January 2004. From June 2009 until July 2010, she also served as President, Chief Executive Officer and a director of Move Networks, Inc., an Internet television services provider.

Douglas M. Baker, Jr.
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ecolab Inc.
Douglas M. Baker, Jr., is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Ecolab Inc., a provider of water and hygiene services and technologies for the food, hospitality, industrial and energy markets. He has served as Chairman of the Board of Ecolab since May 2006 and Chief Executive Officer since July 2004, and served as President from 2002 to 2011.

Calvin Darden
Chairman, Darden Development Group
Calvin Darden is Chairman of Darden Development Group, LLC, a real estate development company, a position he has held on a full-time basis since November 2009. From February 2006 to November 2009, he was Chairman of The Atlanta Beltline, Inc., an urban revitalization project for the City of Atlanta.

Henrique De Castro
Former Chief Operating Officer, Yahoo! Inc.
Henrique De Castro is the former Chief Operating Officer of Yahoo! Inc., a digital media company that delivers personalized digital content and experiences worldwide by offering online properties and services to users. He held that position from November 2012 to January 2014. He previously served Google Inc. as President, Partner Business Worldwide from March 2012 to November 2012, President, Global Media, Mobile & Platforms from June 2009 to March 2012, and as Managing Director, European Sales from July 2006 to May 2009.

James A. Johnson
Founder and Principal, Johnson Capital Partners
James A. Johnson founded Johnson Capital Partners, a private consulting company, in January 2000 and he continues to be actively engaged with that firm. Mr. Johnson was Chairman of Perseus, LLC, a merchant banking private equity firm, from April 2001 to June 2012.

Mary E. Minnick
Partner, Lion Capital LLP
Mary E. Minnick is a Partner of Lion Capital, a consumer-focused private investment firm, a position she has held since May 2007.

Anne M. Mulcahy
Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Save The Children Federation, Inc.
Anne M. Mulcahy is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Save The Children Federation, Inc., a non-profit organization dedicated to creating lasting change in the lives of children throughout the world, a position she has held since March 2010. She previously served as Chairman of the Board of Xerox Corp., a document management company, from January 2002 to May 2010, and Chief Executive Officer of Xerox from August 2001 to July 2009.

Derica W. Rice
Executive Vice President, Global Services and Chief Financial Officer, Eli Lilly and Company
Derica W. Rice is Executive Vice President, Global Services and Chief Financial Officer of Eli Lilly and Company, a pharmaceutical company, positions he has held since January 2010 and May 2006, respectively. From May 2006 to December 2009, he served as Eli Lilly’s Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer.

Kenneth L. Salazar
Partner, WilmerHale
Kenneth L. Salazar is a Partner at WilmerHale, a business and commercial legal services law firm, a position he has held since June 2013. Previously, Mr. Salazar served as the U.S. Secretary of the Interior from 2009 to 2013; and served as a U.S. Senator from Colorado from 2005 to 2009.

John G. Stumpf
Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer, Wells Fargo & Company
John G. Stumpf is Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of Wells Fargo & Company, a banking and financial services company. He has been President since August 2005, Chief Executive Officer since June 2007, and became Chairman in January 2010. A 30-year veteran of Wells Fargo, he has held various operational and managerial positions throughout his career.